Is Creatine Vegan?
Creatine is a naturally occurring organic acid (similar to amino acids). It is created by the human body and by the bodies of other animals. This means that creatine in nature is not vegan. It comes from the cells of animals. However, like vitamin b12 and other vegan supplements, many creatine supplements are actually created artificially and are fully vegan. No animals are used in the creation of vegan creatine supplements (other than the humans employed by the supplement company).
The human body produces its own creatine. This means it is not an essential nutrient. essential nutrients are nutrients that our body cannot produce on its own, and instead must get from a dietary source. Since our body is able to produce creatine on its own, it is not necessary to consume it.
That being said, for most people, about half of their creatine comes from their diet. Creatine is especially plentiful in red meat. So while vegans do not necessarily need to consume creatine to be fully healthy, they likely have lower creatine levels than omnivorous. Creatine supplements are more beneficial to vegans than they are to meat-eaters.
Creatine is used by our bodies to give energy to our cells, especially our muscles. If you want strength, you need creatine. This is why creatine is such a popular supplement among bodybuilders.
Creatine supplements allow your muscles to reach their full potential. If your body is lacking in creatine you will not be able to give your muscles the energy they need to provide full strength and energy.
Getting adequate protein from a vegan diet is perfectly doable. But creatine cannot be found in a vegan diet without supplements. If you area vegan who is working out a lot, lifting weights, playing sports, or active in general creatine supplements can help you gain more strength and energy.
While many creatine supplements are vegan, be sure to check the label before buying one. If unsure, go find a different company which explicitly states that their creatine is vegan/vegetarian.